Chang H. Oh, Satish G. Kandlikar, and Javad Mostaghimi Received the Heat Transfer Memorial Award

Article Information
  • Publication Date: Nov 18, 2012
  • Newsletter: Nov 2012

The Heat Transfer Memorial Award is bestowed on individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of heat transfer through teaching, research, practice and design, or a combination of such activities.

Each award is based on achievement through publications, patents or inventions, in an area of heat transfer or through the application of science or art of heat transfer. One award may be made annually in each of the three following categories: the science of heat transfer, the art of heat transfer, or the general subject of heat transfer.

The award was established by the Heat Transfer Division in 1959 and operated as a division award until 1974 when it was elevated to a Society award.

The 2012 heat transfer memorial awards are conferred at the International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition in Houston, TX and the receipients are:


Chang H. Oh
For seminal and sustained contributions to thermal engineering, particularly pioneering achievements in modeling thermal-hydraulic behavior, accident mitigation methods and numerical tools for nuclear reactor systems that are designed to be coupled to other industrial process applications.


Satish G. Kandlikar
For outstanding research contributions in boiling heat transfer, particularly in mini- and micro-channels; for establishing international conferences dealing with transport phenomena in small channels; and for editorial work on handbooks and journals.


Javad Mostaghimi
For distinguished contributions to thermal plasma processing, particularly to the development of mathematical models of plasma sources and thermal spray coating formation; and as the founding director of the Centre for Advanced Coating Technologies.