Yildiz Bayazitoglu, Vijay Dhir and Yogesh Jaluria Received the ASME Honorary Memberships

Article Information
  • Publication Date: Nov 18, 2012
  • Newsletter: Nov 2012

Professors Yildiz Bayazitoglu of Rice University, Vijay Dhir of UCLA, and Yogesh Jaluria of Rutgers University have received the ASME Honorary Memberships at the 2012 International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition in Houston, TX on November 12, 2012 to recognize their lifetime service to engineering or related fields. 

An Honorary Member shall be a person who has made “distinctive contributions” to engineering, science, industry, research, public service, or other pursuits allied with and beneficial to the engineering profession. The Board of Governors may elect up to five Honorary Members each year.

Honorary Membership was first awarded in 1880, the founding year of the Society. The roster of Honorary Members contains the names of leaders of world renown who have been selected under carefully drawn procedures rigorously maintained by the Society over the years.

In 1962, the ASME further defined this statement as “distinguished service that contributes significantly to the goals of the engineering profession”. While this definition may sometimes imply career-long dedicated activity, that alone is not adequate for this highest level of Society Membership.

The Board of Governors may elect up to five Honorary Members each year (By-Law B3.1.10). An Exception was made in 1980 - the Centennial Year of the Society - when 38 Honorary members were elected.

Yildiz Bayazitoglu
For outstanding contributions in transforming fundamental research to engineering applications such as photo-thermal cancer therapy, space waste-heat recovery and nano-composite materials processing; for dedicated service to engineering societies; and for being an inspirational mentor to women and minority engineers.

Vijay K. Dhir
For pioneering scientific and engineering contributions to boiling heat transfer, nuclear reactor thermal hydraulics and safety; for contributions to industry as a consultant; for significantly influencing engineering education through academic leadership; and for continued exceptional service to the mechanical engineering profession.

Yogesh Jaluria
For outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied areas of heat transfer and fluid mechanics; for editorial leadership on major engineering journals; and for contributions to engineering education that have had a significant impact on the engineering and wider communities.