Professor Dimos Poulikakos receives the 2011 Max Jakob Memorial Award

Article Information
  • Publication Date: Jul 30, 2012
  • Newsletter: Jul 2012

Professor Dimos Poulikakos, an editoroal board member of Frontiers in Heat and Mass Transfer, has been awarded the 2011 Max Jakob Memorial Award. The award was presented during the 2012 ASME HTFNMM Conference on July 10, 2012. The Max Jakob Memorial Award is the highest honor in the field of heat transfer, and has been awarded annually since 1962 by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers to a distinguished scientist.

Dr. Poulikakos received the award “for original, transdisciplinary, fundamental research in heat transfer, including path breaking research into nanoscale phenomena, and their societal applications ranging from energy conversion to thermal energy reuse.”

He holds the Chair of Thermodynamics at ETH Zurich, where in 1996 he founded the Laboratory of Thermodynamics in Emerging Technologies in the Institute of Energy Technology. From 1999 to 2001 he was also the head of the Institute of Energy Technology. He was a member of the Research Commission of ETH (2001 -2005) and the vice chair and then chair of the Leonard Euler Center in Switzerland (2002-2005). He served as the vice president of Research of ETH Zurich in the period 2005-2007. Professor Poulikakos was the ETH director of the IBM-ETH Binnig-Rohrer Nanotechnology Center, a unique private-public partnership in nanotechnology at the interface of basic research and future oriented applications (2008-2011). He is currently the head of the Mechanical and Process Engineering Department at ETH Zurich (2011-2013) and an associate member of the Materials Science Department in the same institution.